AACS Awards

AwardDescription2020 Recipient
Lester F. Ward Distinguished Contribution to Applied and Clinical Sociology Award, Presented to a person who has made a significant contribution to applied and clinical sociology over a period of ten or more years.Jacques Rhéaume, University of Québec at Montréal
Alex Boros Award for Contributions to the Association for Applied and Clinical SociologyPresented to an AACS member who has served AACS with distinction. Miriam Boeri, Bentley University
Robert Ezra Park Award for Sociological PracticePresented to an outstanding sociologist who has made a special contribution demonstrating how sociological practice (applied or clinical) can advance and improve society.Stanley Capela, HeartShare
William Julius Wilson AwardPresented to an individual or organization whose work has been demonstratively effective in breaking the cycle of poverty.The Program in Public Sociology at Radford University
Paul Wellstone Community Service AwardPresented to to a person or organization in the community where the Annual Meeting is held. The recipient organization or person makes significant and noteworthy applied sociological contributions to the community it serves. The organization may explicitly use the tools of sociology or may have a sociologically informed (stated or not) understanding of an issue or problem whose solution lies in transformative social change.  Home Suite Hope of Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Catherine Lucasan, RSW, Program Manager
AACS Client Problem Solving Award (Previously named Judith Little Student Problem-Solving)
Presented to the winning team of students and their advisor of the Client Problem Solving competition  as determined by the client and an adjudicating panel of applied/clinical sociologists.Elizabethtown College
Association for Applied and Clinical Sociology President’s AwardThe President’s Award, presented to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding work in applied and/or clinical sociology, and awarded on the recommendation of the AACS PresidentMark Toney, Executive Director,
The Utility Reform Network
AACS Social Design AwardRecognizes outstanding contributions for pragmatic, evidence-based, practice methodologies, and rational approaches to social change. The Social Design Award is a means for AACS to implement the major principles of the Association’s mission to advance sociological practice. No eligible submissions in 2020

Please submit your nominations for the AACS Lester F. Ward, Alex Boros, Robert E. Park and William J. Wilson Awards to Dr. Karen Albright at karen.albright@cuanschutz.edu for review by the AACS Awards Committee and the AACS Board.  Thank you for your nominations! Nominations are due August 1, 2021. Please see information about submissions for the Social Design Award in the link above.